This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.

ATCA Release notes for 2011APR

The APR11 semester will commence with the "standard" CABB 1MHz continuum mode available, and with up to 16 zoom bands per IF available in the 1M-0.5k mode. The 64MHz CABB mode may initially have a single 64MHz band in each IF, which will have 2048 channels across it. (Thus, if the 64MHz mode is selected for an IF, the total bandwidth in that IF will be 64 MHz and not 2 GHz.) For continuum plus spectral line studies, having one IF set with the 64 MHz mode and the other with the standard 2048 1-MHz-wide channels is possible. For spectral line studies, 64MHz is available in both IFs -- with separations up to 7 GHz between the two 64MHz channels possible. It is expected that the 64MHz mode will be expanded with the full thirty-two 64MHz channels available per IF early in the semester.

The 20cm/13cm ("L/S") receiver upgrade has been completed, and all antennas have now been outfitted with the new 1.1--3.0 GHz receivers. Work has commenced in preparation for the 6cm/3cm ("C/X") upgrade, which will provide coverage over the range 4.0--12.0 GHz and thus fill the gap between the existing 6cm and 3cm bands. The first prototype receiver may be ready for installation toward the end of the 2011APR semester.

Two weeks during the semester have been allocated for C2479 "ATCA Characterisation of the first BETA fields", in order to characterise the two 30 square degree fields that will become the first science fields observed on BETA (the first six antennas of ASKAP). The fields are centred on the Circinus galaxy and the Fornax cluster (and including Fornax A).

Daylight saving started in NSW on Sunday 3 October 2010 at 2:00 am, when clocks were put forward one hour. Daylight saving will end in NSW on Sunday 3 April 2011 at 3:00 am, when clocks will be put back one hour. The schedule is in AEST. During the daylight saving period, local "clock time" is one hour ahead of AEST, so 7am AEST is 8am daylight saving time.

Version 1 of the schedule was released on 1 March 2011. Version 2 of the schedule was released on 8 March 2011, with the most substantive changes being to C1637 and C2361.

Generated: Phil Edwards (1-Mar-2011)